Be Forward Wanderers are the 2018 winners of the FISD Cup after beating Silver Strikers by 3-2 during an entertaining match played at Bingu National Stadium on Sunday.

The bankers were the first to score through Michael Tete and they maintained the lead up to half time.The Nomads then responded quickly in the second half with a brace from Zicco Mkanda before the bankers equalized again.

However, Wanderers still pressurised until Yamikani Chester scored the winning goal, five minutes before the final whistle.

The Nomads pocket K16 million for their victory.

The victory means the Lali Lubani boys are the only team to win the cup twice. They were Inaugural Cup winners in 2016 after beating Kamuzu Barracks 4-3 on post match penalties at the Civo Stadium with Alfred Manyozo Jnr scoring the decisive penalty.

Last year, Wanderers failed to defend the trophy after being knocked out by Moyale Barracks in the preliminary round.


Other Articles