Be Forward Wanderers were drawn against Masters Security in the 2018 edition of the Fisd Challenge Cup which has been raised from K50 million to K60 million.

This follows a draw which was conducted on Tuesday at Mpira Village in Blantyre. The Nomads will host Masters Security at home.

The winner for the national will get k16m whilst runner up team will pocket k6m

Champion for the regional teams will pocket k1m while runners-up will go away with k500,000

The FISD Challenge Cup is a national Knockout Cup organised by the Football Association of Malawi (FAM). It is sponsored by FISD Limited The 2018 edition will be played between September and December.

The Cup will be participated by 16 Super League, 24 Premier Division teams ( The top Eight teams in the three Regional Leagues as of 27th August 2017) and 29 District teams who will win Districts Playoffs involving the top four teams from the 2017 presidential Cup district championship.

The Cup will be played on knockout basis in the following phases:

Districts Preliminary: The Districts teams will play in a regional championship in their respective regions to come up with 5 teams that will qualify for the national phase as follows:

  • South 2
  • Centre 2
  • North 1

Regional Leagues Preliminary: The Regional League teams will play in a regional championship in their respective regions to come up with 3 teams that will qualify for the national phase as follows:

  • South 1
  • Centre 1
  • North 1

Super League Preliminary: The 16 TNM Super League teams were  drawn against each other with the top eight teams from last season seeded. This phase will produce eight teams that will qualify for the national phase.

National Phase: The five district, three regional league and the eight Super league teams will now go into the national draw from round of 16 all the way to final.

Qualified Teams


South: Bottle TOPs/Hardcastle (Blantyre), Neno United/ Tsanya (Neno), Mtero United (Mwanza), Nsulupi FC (Thyolo), Phalombe Police (Phalombe), Kang’ombe (Zomba), Nkhanga FC (Chikhwawa), Winners FC(Chiradzulu), Bloomfield (Mulanje), Marka Express (Nsanje), Mbuje Academy (Mangochi), Invisible Tigers (Balaka) and Machinga Police (MCG).

Centre: City All Stars ( Lilongwe), China Stars( Mchinji), Kaphatenga Stars ( Salima), Madzi FC (Kasungu), Dwangwa Town Hammers ( Nkhotakota, Soccer Saints ( Dedza), St Theresa/ Malomo Rangers ( Ntchisi), Mzamani FC ( Ntcheu).

North: Euthini ( Mzimba), Katoto United ( Mzimba), Katutula ( Chitipa)Mphompa (Rumphi) Ulisa Stars ( Likoma) Young Movers/ Ipota (Karonga),Chibuku/Young Heroes (Nkhatabay)

Regional Leagues teams

South: Nyasa Big Bullets Reserves, Ntopwa FC, MDF Marine, Hangover, Cobbe Barracks, Mangochi United, Befoward Wanderers Reserves,Changalume Barracks FC.

Centre: Mlatho Mponela, Kasungu Police, Airborne Rangers, Support Battalion, Dedza Young Soccer, Holy Cross Ambassadors, Mchinji Boma Stars, Wimbe United.

North: Chitipa United, Bolero United, Ekwendeni Hammers, Fish Eagles, Manyamula, Mchengautuwa, Lufita and Chilumba

Super League Teams

Seeded: Befoward Wanderers,Nyasa Big Bullets, Silver Strikers, Civil Sporting Club, Blue Eagles,MAFCO,Moyale Barracks, Kamuzu Barracks.

Unseeded: Red Lions, Mzuni, Tigers FC, Master Security, Dwangwa United, Karonga United, TN Stars, Nchalo United.

Other Articles